Conservation Commission

The Wakefield Conservation Commission is composed of seven volunteer commissioners appointed by the Wakefield Town Council. The Commission is responsible for applying the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) Wetlands Protection Act (WPA) to building, renovation, and landscaping projects which may affect protected resources. 
The Conservation Commission Office is open 20 hours per week:
  • Tuesday 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. 
  • Friday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
A portion of the office's open hours are dedicated to site visits and various field work. While walk-in visits will be accommodated, time may be restricted. We recommend contacting us for an appointment to ensure that adequate time is available for your discussion.
Commission meetings are held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month. Meetings are listed on this website, or you may call the Conservation office at 781-224-5015 for meeting information. 

Staff Contacts

Judy Green
Elaine Vreeland

Board Members

Name Title
Robert J. Romano Vice-Chairperson, April 2021
Teresa Belmonte Commission Member, April 2021
Peter Miller Commission Member, April 2021
Frank Calandra Commission Member, April 2022
Yue Ren Commission Member, April 2022
Kenneth Alepidis Commission Member, April 2023
Frank J. Luciani, Jr. Commission Member, April 2023
Judy Green Commission Secretary