Clean Lake Committee

The Committee's goal is to make Lake Quannapowitt, our largest Town asset, swimmable and fishable. This Committee will be focused on implementation of new strategies to improve the water quality of the Lake while being compliant with federal and state government regulations. A focus will also include improving stormwater solutions for Lake Quannapowitt, Crystal Lake, and other waterways within Town.

The Committee will work to achieve better alignment and coordination between Department of Public Works and National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) efforts to maximize efficiencies and tactically create maximum impacts to improving water quality. 

The Committee will consider the work and assessments of predecessors while pursuing new grant funding opportunities and developing new connections with available local and regional resources. The work of this Committee is expected to be ongoing and extend over several years.  

Email the Committee at

Committee Composition

The committee is appointed by the Town Council and is represented by:

  • Two members of Department of Public Works (DPW) staff
  • One member of the Conservation Commission
  • One member of Friends of Lake Quannapowitt (FOLQ)
  • One member of Environmental Sustainability Committee (ESC)
  • Two members of the public

Board Members

Name Title
William Renault Chairperson
Claire Moss Vice Chairperson
Elaine Vreeland Conservation Commission Representative
Robert Darnell ESC Representative
Bill Butler FOLQ Representative
Brie Weiler Reynolds Board Member, April 30, 2023
Kenneth Alepidis Board Member, April 30, 2024