Government and Financial Transparency

Our town charter states that “all legislative powers of the Town shall be exercised by an open Town Meeting. The administration of all Town fiscal, prudential and municipal affairs shall be vested in the executive branch headed by a Town Council and a Town Administrator.”

Our Town Council is composed of seven members, elected at large, for terms of three years each:

Stephen P. Maio is Wakefield’s Town Administrator.  Appointed by the Town Council, the Town Administrator implements and manages all policies, programs, and procedures that have been implemented by the Council and by Town Meeting. He also oversees the administration of all Town affairs and supervises Town departments that are placed in his charge.

Helpful Links

Visual Budget and Open Checkbook

Our Open Checkbook feature provides taxpayers a view into Wakefield’s expenditures for fiscal year 2020 and can be searched by category, department, date range, and vendor. You can use this in tandem with our Visual Budget platform to gain insight to government revenues and expenses.