



Notice of Meeting Minutes: Town Council 2023 December 11 7:00 pm Eastern Time WCAT Studio – 24 Hemlock Road | Via Zoom

Call to Order: Jonathan P. Chines called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance: Jonathan P. Chines led the body in the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Town Council: Mehreen N. Butt, Jonathan P. Chines, Chair; Anne P. Danehy; Edward F. Dombroski, Jr., Michael J. McLane, Vice Chair; Julie Smith-Galvin (remote); and Robert E. Vincent II.

Administration: Stephen P. Maio, Town Administrator; Sherri A. Dalton, Executive Assistant, and Town Council Clerk.

Town Counsel: Thomas A. Mullen.

Public Engagement: David Bisson of 20 Hancock Road read a Resolution for consideration by the Town Council.

Presentations / Updates: Bike / Pedestrian Plan – Public Safety Feedback: The Town Council received another Bike / Pedestrian Plan update from Town Engineer Renault and Community and Economic Development Kokinda. Police Chief Skory and Fire Chief Sullivan were on hand to add their comments. Any individual projects within the plan would be reviewed by the Traffic Advisory Committee and Town Council before implementation could proceed. The final version will be available in January on the town's website for public review and Town Council approval. Volunteer Engagement Discussion: Town Administrator Maio presented opportunities to increase awareness of the many volunteer-appointed committees within the town, refine committee descriptions, and continue hybrid meetings. The town currently has over 35 municipal committees and working groups. American Rescue Plan Act Update: Town Administrator Maio provided the quarterly ARPA update. The town received \$8,083,935.00 of ARPA funds. To date, the town has spent/allocated \$6,035,708.00 and needs to appropriate \$2,048,227.00 by December 31, 2024. Town



Councilors were asked to provide Town Administrator Maio with their list of ARPA requests, and he will provide that feedback to the Town Council at the next quarterly update.

Energy Park Easement: Michael J. McLane moved to grant and execute the Energy Park Easement and for the document to be held in escrow until the consideration is granted. Mehreen N. Butt seconded. The motion passed 7-0-0 by roll call vote.

License: 2024 License Renewals: Michael J. McLane moved to approve the following 2024 license applications: Liquor License applications - All Alcohol: Artichokes Restaurant; Bere Island Corp. d/b/a Harrington's; Café Italia, Inc. d/b/a Café Italia; CMRG, LLC d/b/a Tonno Wakefield; Indian Flames, Inc. d/b/a Maya; JWR Family Co. d/b/a Sei Bar; L&B, LLC d/b/a Laurie's 909; Las Chivas, Inc. d/b/a Tequila's; Sabatino's Restaurant; Sakura Organic, Inc. Package Store: KVP Inc. d/b/a Jeffrey's Liquors; Prachi Corporation d/b/a McDonough's Liquors; Campbell Beverage LLC d/b/a Caporale's. Club: Crystal Community Club; Wakefield K. of C. Bldg. Assn. d/b/a Wakefield Knights of Columbus Building Assn., Inc.; West Side Building Association d/b/a West Side Social Club. Beer and Wine: Cibo Café, LLC; MP Ventures LLC d/b/a Ciao Amici; Sonny Noto's. Common Victualler applications: Adocicadoce Inc.; AMMR DBA Honey Dew Donuts; Café Italia, Inc. d/b/a Café Italia; Cibo Café, LLC; Circle K; Dino's Brick Oven Pizzeria; Elis Mini Market Inc.; Family Pizza Dough LLC; Greater Pizza +, Inc.; Harrington's; Jade Gourmet; JWR Family Co. d/b/a Sei Bar; Kipo's Roast Beef; King's of Flavor; Lisa's Gyro; Maya Indian Bar and Grill; Meletharb Ice Cream; NexDine LLC - 100 Quannapowitt; NexDine LLC - 401 Edgewater; Omelet Headquarters; R&J Restaurant Group LLC d/b/a Early Harvest Diner; Sabatino's Restaurant. Lodging House application: Hospitality Resources. Entertainment applications: Adocicadoce Inc.; AMMR DBA Honey Dew Donuts; Cibo Café, LLC; Circle K; Family Pizza Dough LLC; Greater Pizza +, Inc.; Harrington's; JWR Family Co. d/b/a Sei Bar; Maya Indian Bar and Grill; NexDine LLC; Sabatino's Restaurant. Automated Devices applications: Crystal Laundromat; West Side Building Association d/b/a West Side Social Club. Class II applications: Brandon Auto Sales; Diagnostic Motor Vehicle Inspection; Liberty Chevrolet, Inc.; Liberty Motorcar Co., Inc.; Rainville d/b/a Dick's Foreign Car Service; Modern Classic Investment Cars LLC; Phil Howe's Towing Inc.; Platinum Car Center, Inc.; Subaru of Wakefield; Tecce's Collision and Frame,

Corp.; Wakefield Auto Sales; Wakefield Auto Sales of Main Street, Inc.; WW Industries Inc. Class I

applications: Liberty Chevrolet, Inc.; Liberty Isuzu Truck; Liberty Motorcar, Inc. d/b/a Liberty Mazda, Inc.;

Subaru of Wakefield. Mehreen N. Butt seconded. The motion passed 7-0-0 by roll call vote.

Appointment: Julie Smith-Galvin moved to appoint Eric Cohen; Russell Jackson; and Teagan Norton as

Student Liaisons to the Environmental Sustainability Committee with one-year terms. Michael J. McLane

seconded. The motion passed 7-0-0 by roll call vote.

Donation: Michael J. McLane moved to accept and expend a gift or gifts to the Council on Aging in the

amount of \$150.00 from various donors with thanks. Mehreen N. Butt seconded. The motion passed 7-0-0 by

roll call vote.

Warrants: Councilors were updated on Fiscal Year 2024 Warrants: Warrant 16 dated October 17, 2023;

Warrant 18 dated October 31, 2023; and Warrant 20 dated November 14, 2023.

Approval of Minutes: Michael J. McLane moved to approve the November 27, 2023 and December 5, 2023

Town Council meeting minutes. Mehreen N. Butt seconded. The minutes were approved with no objection.

Flag Request: Michael J. McLane moved to entertain the Flag request from Marcy McCauley of 32 Walden

Road to fly the Prolife flag from December 18, 2023, through December 31, 2023, on the second flag pole at

the Americal Civic Center. Edward F. Dombroski, Jr. seconded. After a brief discussion, Edward F.

Dombroski, Jr. stated, as he has previously, that he will only vote for the American Flag and the POW/MIA

Flag. All seven councilors voted unanimously to deny the request by roll call vote.

Adjournment: Michael J. McLane motioned to adjourn at 9:01 p.m. Mehreen N. Butt seconded. The motion

passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherri A. Dalton, Town Council Clerk