Minutes

Finance Committee

October 29, 2020

Meeting called to order at 7:02 PM by Doug Butler

Present by ZOOM Meeting: Dennis Hogan, Don Ravenelle, Gerard Leeman, Jim Sullivan, Brian Cusack, Dan Sherman, Joanne Reilly, Bill Boodry, Aimee Forsythe, Evan Kenney, Stefan Chase, Joe Bertrand, Tarae Howell and David Mastroianni.

Absent: Jim Sullivan

Also, in Attendance: Town Administrator Stephen P. Maio, Town Accountant Kevin Gill and Town Council Vice Chair Julie Smith-Galvin

The Finance Committee held a moment of silence in regards to former Finance Committee Member Quirino "Buddy" Iannazo.

- Public Participation: No one from the public offered any comments
- 2) Motion to approve the minutes for the October 1, 2020 meeting by Dan Sherman Seconded by Joanne Reilly and so voted.
- 3) Motion to approve the Forecasting Subcommittee minutes for the September 17,2020 meeting by Dan Sherman Seconded by Joanne Reilly and so voted.
- 4) Town Administrator presented the Committee with a review of Fiscal Year 2020 and a general discussion regarding FY2021 and beyond followed.
- 5) November 7,2020 Town Meeting
- i) Article 2 Free cash: Motion to recommend the expenditure of \$2 Million of free cash to balance the FY2021 budget by Joe Bertrand seconded by Evan Kenney and so voted unanimously.
- Article 3 High School Feasibility Study: Motion to recommend appropriation by Borrowing \$2 Million by Joseph Bertrand seconded by Dan Sherman and so voted unanimously.
- iii) Article 4 Veterans Exemption: Motion to recommend adoption of statute by Dan Sherman seconded by Joanne Reilly and so voted unanimously.
- iv) Article 5 Veterans Exemption: Motion to recommend adoption of statute by Joe Bertrand seconded by Gerard Leeman and so voted unanimously.

- v) Article 7 Legal Settlement Motion to Recommend \$2.1Million for the Legal Settlement by Joe Bertrand Sherman seconded by Dan Sherman voted all in favor with Stefan Chase in the negative.
- vi) Article 8 Sustainable Food Containers and Packaging: Motion to recommend bylaw change by Joe Bertrand seconded by Dan Sherman and so voted with Dennis Hogan, Dan Sherman, Aimee Forsythe, Tarae Howell, Gerard Leeman, David Mastroianni, Don Ravanelle, Brian Cusack, Stefan Chase and Joe Bertrand in favor with Doug Butler, Joanne Reilly, Evan Kenney and Bill Boodry against.
- vii) Article 9 Plastic Reduction Motion to recommend bylaw change by Joe Bertrand seconded by Dan Sherman and so voted with Dennis Hogan, Dan Sherman, Aimee Forsythe, Tarae Howell, Gerard Leeman, David Mastroianni, Don Ravanelle, Brian Cusack, Stefan Chase, Doug Butler, Bill Boodry and Joe Bertrand in favor with Joanne Reilly and Evan against.
- 6) Committee Comments:

Acting Chair Doug Butler stated that subcommittee assignments would be available in the next couple of weeks.

7) Motion to adjourn at 8:21 PM by Joe Bertrand seconded by Dennis Hogan and so voted.